What is AOL aiming for?

I never really took to AIM though its been years since it came into existence. I think it’s because AIM is used primarily by US-based users. I don’t know anyone with an AOL account who does not live in the US, for example.

Anyway, I just noticed from my Gmail page that Gmail chat now offers the option to chat with friends who have an AIM account. Further details here. I believe the deal started in December last year, but I only noticed today that Gmail chat has a small box advertising it, so to speak.

AOL opened up the AIM network to third-party users very recently. They have also gone a step further – OpenAIM 2.0, for example, provides uninhibited access to services like Meebo and Pidgin, websites which integrate the chat capabilities of Yahoo, MSN, Google and AOL and allow users to access all of them through one webpage.

I guess after AOL’s acquisition of Bebo, they are re-organising their priorities. Two decisions have clearly been made of late, one to get their act together in the social networking scene, which they acted on through their purchase of Bebo, and another to open up their instant messaging service.

No doubt Jeffrey Bewkes, Time-Warner’s new CEO, is the catalyst behind all of this. Last week, he confirmed that he is open to talks of merging AOL with another company to make it stronger.

I think he’s going in the right direction. I don’t think AOL can hold up to the strength of the Apple-Google-Microsoft triumvirate all by itself.

2 thoughts on “What is AOL aiming for?

  1. I’ve had an AIM login for going on 8 years now. Never have used AOL tho, think they’re a twat business. But AIM, was -the- major way to IM besides IRC back in 2000 – every Mac had preinstalled iChat which worked either with .Mac login (cost $) or AIM login (free.)

    Yeah, um. so. Yeah.

    Cheers!

Leave a comment