Playfulness

146

Priyanka has a great summary here and here of Playful, which I went to as well last Friday, so this post won’t be a summary of the event – more an observation of the stuff that I liked from the event.

148

First, the Playful newspaper, which was put together by the Newspaper Club people, Russell and Ben. It had, among other things, bios of the speakers and a section next to them for notes, which I faithfully put to good use, as you can see above. Very neat idea.

Second, Wordr, which is a sort of one-word Twitter (uses the Twitter API). I like the fact that people make up words – that’s such a fun thing to do. I’ve invented ‘pluggy’ and ‘growlsome’ so far. Nonsensical to some  but meaningful to me!

I really really want to read Leila Johnston’s ‘Enemy of Chaos‘ now. She spoke at Interesting too and though I was keen on reading it then, I’m even more keen now. Sounds like exactly the kind of book I would fall off the chair laughing with. 

The Snowflake project from the Tinker.it! team looked really cool and I wish I had the chance to play with it when it was going on in January. Basically passers-by could tap their Oyster card on to the reader and see what kind of snowflake they were. Here’s a quick video that shows you what I mean. 

[Vimeo 2848870]

I was amazed when Robin Burkinshaw said that his project with the Sims 3, Alice and Kev, led to 16,000 people donating money to homeless charities. Quite an impact for a game. 

Russell’s talk on how pretending lends a whole new perspective to your world made me want to be a kid again. I also went and spent some time on Noticings on Flickr after his talk, a game for people who notice stuff around them. I’m always clicking pictures of random things so I really should give it a go. 

That’s about it for now.

Leave a Reply

