How Spymaster pulled me back into the game

This morning, I awoke to find an SMS on my phone which sounded very cryptic for all of two seconds: ‘The Directorate needs your help. We’ve given you 100 Directorate points to ensure your safe return to the agency.’ Then I figured it out: I hadn’t been playing Spymaster for a while now, and they were inviting me back. I was struck with novelty of it. Spymaster is just a game, linked to Twitter, but because I’ve supplied Twitter with my number, they were able to reach me even at a time when I was not near my computer. I did go back to Spymaster, even if it was just out of curiosity. (If you’re interested, they’ve made a lot of improvements to the game).
Imagine if brands did this in a useful way. Will Twitter ever open itself to brands like this? Wouldn’t that be a way for them to make money? Of course, commercial messages would need to stick to certain rules which Twitter could specify, and limited to a certain number per day, the way Facebook only allows a certain number of status messages to be posted from Twitter on Facebook profiles. Hmmm.

Leave a comment