How NOT to do PR

Dear Mark Cooper from Van Communications,

I was absolutely sure that yours was a spam email, but when I checked your company’s website out of curiosity, I learnt that it actually does exist, and worse, you are a PR company! You asked me to comment on a blog post on your company’s website, after asking me how I would ‘spend my last marketing pound’, apparently because Bill Gates said that if he was down to his last dollar, he would spend it on PR. 
I hate to break it to you, but he wouldn’t choose your PR company even if he WAS down to his last dollar and yours was the last PR company left. You have no idea who I am or what I do, you did not even deign to find out my name, and really, your email was probably the worst mass email I have ever seen. I would have linked to you just to point other people to an example of a (really bad) PR company, but to be honest I can’t be bothered and you don’t deserve it. A word of advice: maybe you should read this post by Chris Brogan to help you do your job better.
Anjali.
2 thoughts on “How NOT to do PR

  1. Apparently they are the home of 'THINKUBATION'. What the hell is that?! Sounds very wrong and conjures up images of teenagers day-dreaming of T&A with their hands down their pants!

    After reading a bit more I then found out that it involves 'a lot of Play-Doh, rubber balls, laughter, chocolate and blindfolds'??!!! Holy crap what sort of an outfit are these guys running over there?!!

    They have got some quite good clients in the bag though, so they must be doing something right?!

  2. Hey Ash – thanks for the comment. I know, I’m amazed they have any decent clients with an attitude like that. Maybe they’re just newbies in the field of online PR (as opposed to traditional PR)? As for the description of their outfit, holy crap is right :D

Leave a Reply

